McCloud pt 3

Here’s the last photos from my trip this last fall. There’s a lot more pictures with this one, but I wanted to wrap it up. Hopefully its not messing people up too much with load times.

Image

We decided to head upstream and scout some new water. This stretch, in my eyes, was some of the prettiest water I’ve seen. Big green pools, covered in streamside foliage. I love the elephant ears.

Climbing up the road, looking back down the valley.

Image

We hiked down along the river to the top end of our beat.

Image

Image

Encountered a ton of these guys sipping water from a pool. Probably 20-30 of them fluttering around.

Image

Did a little highsticking and hooked 2-3 little rainbows right here. There’s a nice deep seam under the elephant ears on the far bank.

Image

Walking up the river, I saw these dark little shadows fluttering away from my footsteps. Amphibians are something I see less and less of every year, its nice to see a place where they have such a strong foothold. Rough skinned newts.

Image

Image

Image

The 3 of us hiked slowly up the stream, I took my time and followed behind my 2 buddies(and still caught fish, much to my pleasure.) Tim eyed some water he liked and charged ahead rapidly. Miles and I took our time, talking as we fished. Miles was casting a little hopper on an old fiberglass rod and getting slashy strikes from the little bows.

Image

Image

We eventually caught up to Tim and he had found a deep run with a very pronounced seam, protective coverage and even a small side channel feeding from the side. It was the perfect spot for nymphing up a bigger fish. Tim took the head of the run and I snuck in below. Miles felt content to watch us nymph. We both hooked our biggest fish of the trip. Tim landed 1 before I got close and lost another. I hooked 2 fish in the 18″+ range. They were right next to a submerged tree and  both swam straight into it on the hookset,  breaking clean off. C’est la vie. It was still fun.

Image

We eventually hiked back out amidst a banter of the days exploits, smiles on our faces.

The next day, after 4 or 5 days of fishing, we needed to top off a few supplies, so we went into Dunsmuir for a little break and sightseeing. We went to the Ted Fay fly shop. I love going to a classic, hole in the wall fly shop. Old, dusty little fishing shops bring back some really nice memories and there’s fewer and fewer of these types of places left. I bought some tying materials I already had and some flies I didn’t really need, just to fight the good fight and support a small shop.

Image

As some of you know I’ve been getting into rod building lately. In Dunsmuir there’s a cool little workshop where a guy makes cane rods. Figured we’d stop by and check it out, but he happened to be closed that day. Oh well, looks cool from the outside at least.

Image

ImageImage

For the first time in 4-5 days I get cell phone coverage and I call back to civilization. Ifind out I have a guide request for the next day. I know I’m probably not going to make it so I get someone to cover. We need to fish just a little more. These opportunities don’t happen often. We fish some more the next day, and catch some more little guys. The rest of the group heads out. Tim and I stay behind to clean up the place and get it ready for the next group. We take some more time to look at the old photos and admire the place. It’s such a pretty spot.

Image

There were some springs welling up out if the ground on the upper end of the property. I stopped and took a sip. It was very nice. As cold and clean as a man could ever want. Image

While we were cleaning out the other cabin, there were some pictures of the German immigrants that built it over a hundred years ago.

Image

Image

We finished cleaning early and still had a few more hours to kill, what the hell, lets fish right next to the cabin…

Image

I string up my rod, but I barely even fish, I just watch and enjoy the moment.

Image

Timmy catches a couple pretty little bows. Finally we feel content and maybe like we are ready to leave.(but not really) Still, the next guests will be arriving shortly, and I don’t think they want to run into other people fishing their private stretch of stream.

Image

Image

Image

See you next time, maybe even on the river.

Dan

3 thoughts on “McCloud pt 3

Leave a Reply

