Back home

For the holidays I took a trip down to LaHonda to see the folks. At this point, no matter how many years I live away, it always feels more like home then anywhere else I live. While I was down I also made a quick trip south down hwy 1 to visit the Santa Lucia Flyfishers in San Luis Obispo. I made them a presentation on our fishing in the Truckee area and tied some flies for the guys. They were very gracious hosts. The were excited and said I was one of their best presenters they’ve had and insisted I come again.  The drive down was spectacular. I knew it might be, so I gave myself a few extra hours so I could enjoy the drive.

Found a nice spot to stop and stretch the legs.

Image

Image

Image

Elephant seals were birthing their pups on some of the beaches. I remember the field trip we took to Ana Nuevo as a kid, watching these giant creatures wiggle across the sand like a 1000 pound inchworm. It was really something to a kid. Still is.

Image

Image

Image

I didn’t get a chance to take pics during my talk (I was so preoccupied, I forgot really)

I did take some more shots on the way back up the coast. I found a nice little restaurant with a patio on top of an overlook. The guy looked at me like I was a little dense when I ordered to go. I figured I’d find my own spot to eat. This one will work.

Image

Image

Image

When I got to the familiar sight of the Pigeon Point lighthouse, I knew I was almost home. (Sorry for the off kilter pic, no photoshopping)

Image

Looking back south the direction I came, from Pigeon Point.

Image

It was great getting back home. The next day I went through Sacramento for the International Sportsmens Expo to see some friends, shake some hands and check out a little bit of the new gear coming out. The day after that I went back to my other home in Truckee. Its always nice to go back home, whichever one it is…

edit –

A couple days later after getting to Truckee I got to sneak in a little fishing with a photographer friend of mine, Stefan McLeod.  I had been on the road since mid to late December so it was my first chance to get back on the water this new year. We only fished for an hour or 2, but I got my first fish of the season,  a trio of dandies from the same run. Stefan took some killer shots.

1601412_640255626036272_733688250_n1531944_640255916036243_151134427_o1551576_640255919369576_391813140_n1546403_640255922702909_1384295331_n

1526549_640256002702901_1837937691_n

  

Leave a Reply

